World Paravolley Elections

World ParaVolley is pleased to announce that the appointed Scrutineers have verified the recent Board election results from the General Assembly on December 6, 2020.

Barry Couzner OAM (AUS) was re-elected unopposed for another four-year term as President, Louise Ashcroft (CAN) was re-elected as Medical Director and Dr Ivana Pavic (CRO) was elected as Development Director, replacing John Kessel who retired after eight years in the position.

“I am very honoured to serve the athletes and officials of World ParaVolley for another term – it is a privilege and a challenge to lead the governance of an independent International Federation. We held a very successful General Assembly online for the first time with nearly 80 per cent of our Members in attendance. The Board will consider this format for the next General Assembly to be held in 2022,” World ParaVolley President Barry Couzner OAM said.

Governance matters decided at the General Assembly include:

  • The addition of seven new Members: Argentina, Bolivia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Montenegro and Vanuatu.
  • The addition of two athletes to the Board in the Constitution
  • The addition of a non-voting Treasurer to the Board in the Constitution

At the conclusion of the meeting the President announced that the Chief Historian, Dr. Kwok Ng had completed a history of sitting volleyball that focused on 40 years of involvement in the Paralympic Games from 1980 to 2020. The President also acknowledged the work and commitment of John Kessel as the Development Director since 2012.

Share this: