Rwanda, Egypt retain African crowns with unbeaten records

The Rwanda women’s team and Egypt men’s team have extended their reigns in the ParaVolley Africa Sitting Volleyball Championships, following their respective victories on Saturday at Teslim Balogun Stadium in Surulere, Lagos.

Rwanda were three-time reigning zone champions and Egypt were nine-time winners before they swept the zone titles in 2024.

No other teams in ParaVolley Africa history have earned the zone titles as many times as Rwanda and Egypt in their tournament categories. Rwanda now have four women’s titles, while Egypt have increased their total to 10 gold medals and one silver.

Rwanda got a good challenge from Kenya as the latter played its best performance in the tournament. However, the Rwandans proved in the end to be too much for their rivals in a 3-0 (25-12, 25-14, 25-21) victory in the women’s final.

Egypt clinched their record 10th African title with a 3-0 (25-13, 25-11, 25-16) triumph against Morocco, keeping their unbeaten run in the tournament intact.

Earlier, Rwanda prevailed against Algeria in straight sets (25-18, 25-12, 25-16), closing their campaign in the men’s tournament with a third-place finish.

Final Standings


  1. Rwanda
  2. Kenya
  3. Nigeria


  1. Egypt
  2. Morocco
  3. Rwanda
  4. Algeria
  5. Kenya
  6. Libya
  7. Nigeria

Source: ParaVolley Africa