2023 WPV Sitting Volleyball World Cup Day 4: Men’s quarterfinalists confirmed; China, Germany, Canada stay undefeated after blockbuster day of action

Hosts Egypt, Iran, China and Germany topped their respective groups to lead the men’s quarterfinal draw, while Iraq, Japan, Brazil and Ukraine locked their quarterfinal spots as second placers of their group in the 2023 WPV Sitting Volleyball World Cup in Cairo, Egypt.

As China have confirmed their spot last Monday with two victories in Group C, while the home team kept their winning streak going with a 3-0 (25-16, 25-17, 25-18) win over African rivals Rwanda, and Iran and Germany also stayed with a perfect record in the competition after beating Algeria 3-0 (25-5, 25-10, 25-10) in Group B and France 3-0 (25-8, 25-16, 25-14) in Group D, respectively, on Tuesday.

Monday’s losing sides – Brazil and Ukraine – bounced back to win their respective matches against India 3-0 (25-7, 25-18, 25-12) and Great Britain 3-0 (25-14, 25-18, 25-12).

Meanwhile, China, Germany and Canada kept their perfect start and earned their respective third victories in the women’s tournament.

Asian champions China edged Rwanda 3-0 (25-7, 25-6, 25-11) and Germany beat hosts Egypt 3-0 (25-10, 25-8, 25-18) in Group E, while Canada earned double victories during the day against Slovenia 3-1 (25-21, 25-17, 18-25, 25-14) and Ukraine 3-0 (25-13, 25-14, 25-16) in Group F. 

The Ukrainians had an earlier victory 3-0 (25-13, 25-13, 25-23) against the Netherlands, but Slovenia lost their second match of the day against world champions Brazil 3-0 (25-16, 25-9, 25-13).

Women’s pool play will continue on Wednesday, 15 November to define the teams that will play in the quarterfinals bracket.

The World Cup is a Paris 2024 Paralympic qualifier, where one berth per gender is available for the winner or the highest placed non-qualified team of the tournament. 

Ten teams have qualified so far for the Paris 2024 Paralympics, including France (M and W) as hosts, world champions Iran (M) and Brazil (W), Asian champions Kazakhstan (M) and China (W), European champions Bosnia and Herzegovina (M) and Italy (W), and Pan American champions Brazil (M) and United States (W).

World Cup Information