Tokyo 2020 women’s preview: Eight teams chase history in Tokyo

The Tokyo 2020 women’s competition highlights the return of Japan to the Paralympic Games, opening the sitting volleyball competition against debutantes Italy on Friday, August 28 at 10.00 (local time).

Italy earned their well-deserved ticket to Tokyo 2020 by finishing second at the 2019 European Sitting Volleyball Championship against gold medal winners RPC and are looking forward to making their first appearance at the quadrennial.

The usual suspects will be present, with 2016 gold medallists USA looking to repeat their success in Rio by facing their nemesis China, and RPC who are the reigning world champions.

Canada are raring to go after claiming the last qualification berth just before the pandemic hit in February 2020. The Canadians will face bronze medallists Brazil in the North and South American derby at 16.30.

Last but not the least, Rwanda, which made history by being the first women’s team from Sub-Sahara Africa to compete at a Paralympics in Rio 2016, are looking forward to represent their continent for the second time in a row.

The women’s pools are as follows:

Pool A

  • Japan
  • Italy
  • Brazil
  • Canada

Pool B

  • USA
  • Rwanda
  • China
  • RPC

The following players have been identified as the Ones to Watch all throughout the competition:

Link to the Tokyo 2020 page here.

Share this: